National Volunteer of the Year

Wednesday 08 November 2023

Surf Life Saving Australia Honours Tasmanian Luke O'Garey as DHL Volunteer of the Year for 2023

Surf Life Saving Australia's prestigious 2023 Awards of Excellence celebrated the remarkable dedication of volunteers in Australia's largest volunteer movement. These awards shine a light on the exceptional contributions of our tireless volunteers from across the country, making it a night to remember.

Luke O'Garey from the Burnie Surf Life Saving Club emerged as a shining star in this year's Awards of Excellence. We are thrilled to announce that Luke has been nationally recognized as the DHL Volunteer of the Year for 2023.

The DHL Volunteer of the Year award is a testament to the unwavering commitment and extraordinary efforts of volunteers within Surf Life Saving Australia. It acknowledges their tireless work and the vital role they play in ensuring the safety and well-being of beachgoers across the nation.

Luke's remarkable dedication and outstanding achievements have not only made him a standout within the Burnie Surf Life Saving Club but have also had a profound impact on the broader surf lifesaving community in Tasmania. His selfless contributions, countless hours of volunteering, and exceptional leadership have left an indelible mark on the movement.

The 2023 DHL Volunteer of the Year, Luke O'Garey, epitomizes the spirit of volunteerism and the core values of Surf Life Saving. His recognition is a well-deserved honour, and it reflects the heart and soul of our volunteer movement.

The Awards of Excellence are a testament to the collective efforts of volunteers who embody the essence of community service, selflessness, and dedication. These awards reaffirm the pivotal role played by surf lifesaving volunteers in safeguarding our coastal communities.

Further details on Luke’s achievement:   DHL Lifesaving Awards - SLSA Website

National Volunteer of the Year